Post #528 It’s Grillin’ Time!

April 12, 2017 at 9:10 AM | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

We’re finally getting into the warm days here on the peninsula.  We can leave the windows open all day and all night to make the most of the fresh breezes.  The trees have opened all their blossoms, and the yards in the neighborhood are a patchwork of colors.  I can’t wait for our own flowers to open.  The day lilies and hydrangea are almost ready, and the one flower whose name I can never remember is sprouting high.  Our roses are sending new shoots and leaves out ready to put out blossoms.  The only disappointment is the tulips.  I don’t think we’re going to see any.  It’s mostly the location of our front yard.  We get afternoon sun, while nearly everyone else gets morning and afternoon sun.  What this leads up to Spring.  With the warming days, low bug count, and a grill sitting idle all winter, it all adds up to grillin’ time.

My store just happened to have a sale on rib roast this week so we bought one, about three ribs worth, not quite three pounds.

Partner/Spouse and I just happened to have a day off together this week (although I got called in.  I usually get called in.  I look at my days off as opportunities to get extra hours.  I only worked the morning shift so got home with plenty of time to do what we wanted to do.  Okay, rant over.)   When we got the roast, our plan was actually to freeze it and save it for a time when we could treat it with the respect it deserved and do it up right.

Yeah, that changed.  Monday evening Partner/Spouse looks at me and says, “Do we have any charcoal?”

“Yeah, we’ve got half a bag left from the summer.”

“How about we grill that roast?  Wanna look up the directions?”

Mouth watering, I went to the trust internet and in about five minutes had read two or three recipes from trusted sources.  They all said basically the same thing.  Cook it over indirect heat and use an aluminum pan to catch the drippings.  You can use the drippings to make gravy if you want.

So when I got home from work around 1 pm, there were BLTs waiting for me.  And a yellow cake with chocolate frosting.  Partner/Spouse was busy that morning.  I had some work to do on the computer, not the least of which was getting a blog post together for you guys.

When the sun started setting, he started putting the roast together.

“Wanna sit outside with a glass of wine and watch the sun set and keep an eye on the grill with me?”

I was off the couch with the computer shut in about fifteen seconds.

All the neighbors were jealous of the grillin’ time.  We love this neighborhood.  Everyone is friendly and watches out for each other.  Some young guy blasted down the street on his motorcycle and you could hear the chorus of protests to the speed and noise with each house he passed.

As we sat and talked about things, I remembered when my father started that manly ritual of teaching his son (me) how to cook on a charcoal grill.  It was about the same time mom started teaching me to cook.  Dad had a trick to test the coals.

You sprayed the charcoal with lighter fluid and set it on fire.  When the coals were turning gray around the edges, you spread them out and waited until they were glowing cherry red.  After a few minutes, you tested the heat of the coals by holding your hand about twelve inches over the coals.  If you could hold your hand over the coals for about 5-6 seconds without undue pain, they were ready for whatever you were cooking.

Partner/Spouse, being a nurse for 30+ years, said that probably wasn’t the best way in the world to test the coals.

So when our coals were ready, we seared the roast and set it over indirect heat.  When using charcoal and indirect heat, you start the coals and get them to the point where you want to start cooking, then pile them up on one side of the grill pit.  Then you cook the food on the side of the grill that doesn’t have the coals.  This keeps the food from burning and charring.

This is where he seared the roast.  You can see the coals piled on one side, and the aluminum pan to catch the meat drippings on the other side.

We sat outside talking and grilling and getting the rest of the meal ready.  It was a great way to start the warm part of the year.

When we sat down to eat we had fried mushrooms, corn on the cob, Yorkshire pudding with gravy, and prime rib roast.  And I had another glass of wine.

I forgot to take a picture of the final product so you’ll have to use your imagination.

We saved the ribs to make soup.

It was all so good.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I feel that meat never tastes as good as when cooked over an open flame. But my Mom still has the record for best steaks I’ve ever eaten. ( She always broiled them in the oven).
    If I ever get the chance to visit you I only ask that you make Yorkshire Pudding as I’ve never had it and it’s kind of a ” bucket list” food I’ve never had.

  2. I love grilling season. And always enjoy your post. My favorite thing to grill are oysters.

    • How the heck do you grill oysters? Don’t the little snot balls fall through the grate? Just kidding! Happy grilling to you!

  3. We’ve grilled 2 times in less than a week. We are living in an apartment complex and just found out they have nice grilling areas with gas grills. Each time we have taken a walkabout the complex, we did it at night, and didn’t notice them.

    Your roast looks fabulous!! Love your posts, and it’s so lovely when you visit (write a new post).

    • When we were in Tucson, we grilled nearly every day just to keep the house cool. We had a gas grill too. So much easier. Happy Grilling!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

