Post #520 Veggie Stuff and Updates

January 14, 2017 at 3:22 PM | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

So it’s just after the first of the year and as in years past, I’m going to write about food trends I’ve noticed over the past year(s), and add my two cents to them.  At the end of the blog, I’ll bring you up to speed on some things going on in the household.

I’ve noted before that we’re the world’s worst vegetarians.  I love vegetables, much more than I like fruit.  The trouble is, I also like meat.  And while I whole-heartedly support the theory of eating nothing but vegetables in various forms, I’ve never gone more than three days without eating meat.  And usually, at the end of those three days, I binge eat more meat than I ordinarily would have in those three days.  I’ve been known to polish off a three pound roast in one sitting.

But I do like vegetables.  I love the crunch of fresh vegetables, and I love the flavors of vegetables in various preparations.  When I was about 8 or so, one of the neighbors had a vegetable garden and in summer, she let me sample all the fresh veggies I wanted as long as I helped her clean all the weeds and grass out of the beds.  It started a lifelong affection for brushing dirt off of sun-warmed tomatoes and green beans and popping them directly into my mouth.

So today’s talk about trends is about veggies.  I’ve noticed over the last several months some things going on.

Cauliflower, for instance.  I like cauliflower a lot.  One time, an older man was wandering up and down the streets of my apartment complex hawking fresh veggies.  For a dollar, I bought a four pound head of cauliflower and a friend and I spent the rest of the afternoon listening to music, talking, and eating raw cauliflower and cheese.  But lately, you can’t turn around without seeing cauliflower in some form or another.  It’s being smashed into an addition to smashed potatoes.  It’s being pulverized into soup.  It’s being riced into something resembling rice but isn’t.  Some people are acting like it’s the secret to eternal youth.  It’s not, folks.  It’s good.  It’s cheap at certain times of the year.  It’s versatile.  But it’s not the only veggie available.

Kale is another thing that’s exploded on the food scene.  Trust me, you can live without it.  I had a customer at the store berate me because I said I preferred something else, I don’t even remember what.  She continued to lecture long after I had walked away.  Don’t get me wrong.  I like kale, and I like the things you an turn it into.  I just don’t think it’s the holy grail.

One veggie I don’t like that everyone else in the world seems to think is the reason for eating is avocado.  I know it’s an acquired taste (they tell me) but with all the other veggies out there, why should I?  I don’t even care much for guacamole.  I’ll eat it if I can’t scrape it off, but good lord people!  You can have Mexican food without it.

I also want to tell every steak house in the country that you don’t HAVE to put mushrooms and asparagus next to every steak you grill.  I like both of them.  I like all three of them.  I don’t need to have them together every time I sit down to a steak dinner.  One time, I got into a small tussle at a restaurant because I told them to hold all the sides, serve my steak alone, and let me make a trip to the salad bar.  It wasn’t until my dinner companion said, “Trust me, he’ll be much happier.” that they left me alone to enjoy my meal.  Even the manager got involved on that one.  They even tried to get me to have the sweet potato fries.  I had to bite my lip to keep from telling them they can do other things to the sweet potato besides turning them into fries.

One vegetable I’d like to see take off in popularity is the parsnip.  I’ll be the first to admit that I haven’t eaten the parsnip any other way than roasted.  But lord how it shines when it’s perfectly roasted!  Even when it’s imperfectly roasted.  It has such a nice sweet flavor and I plan to investigate its other properties in the upcoming months.

Onions.   What else needs to be said?  Comes in so many varieties and cook up in so many different ways.  I used to hate ’em.  Now I love ’em.  And some day I’m going to figure out how to deep fry them without making my kitchen look like a disaster zone.  My total favorite recipe for onions I’ve shared here many times.  Beef and onion soup.  It’s the nectar of the gods and I can eat it six times a week.

Told you, I’m the world’s worst vegetarian.  I have a friend who used to say “I’m a vegetarian not so much because I love animal as I hate plants.”  Not me.

Enjoy

///////////////////////////////////////////

Life Update:

Things have been hectic and the blog has suffered because of that.  I took an unscheduled, unannounced, and unanticipated break from writing and work altogether.  Partner/Spouse was a rock of support, even though he was dealing with his own issues.  We both came through it all and I’ve got a renewed sense of purpose.

My focus is again on writing.  I’ve got several projects in the offing.  One of the priorities involves this blog.  By the end of February, the print edition of the e-book based on the blog will be available for sale.  Unless it isn’t.  I still have a ways to go on it.  I’ve also committed to publishing 3 more e-books this year, the first in March some time.  All three are fantasy based in small or large part.  Additionally, I will be self-publishing some short fiction (long short stories or short story collections) for free at inconsistent intervals.

I’ve also become involved in some social advocacy writing which will start soon (I hope).  I have little control over that since I’m not the person heading it, but will let you know what’s going on once it starts.

I’ve also added an author’s page on Facebook for the blog and the e-book.  If you haven’t already, I suggest you head over there and like the page.  I will be putting in updates and links there on a regular basis.  The FB page is titled the same as the blog so searching it out will be easy.

So that’s some of the things that have been going on.  As always, feel free to comment on the blog or on the FB page.  Send an email any time you like.  And Enjoy!

4 Comments

  1. A 3 pound roast in one sitting? Respect! By the way I’m with you on parsnips.
    JP

    • Yeah, that roast thing happened back in college. I’d gone home for a long weekend visit and on Friday night plowed my way through that chunk of meat. Didn’t eat again until Sunday night. 🙂

  2. Good to see you back to writing.

    • Thanks. I’m about 3000 words into the fantasy novel, and working on some short stories I want to release on KDP at zero cost to start building a fan base. Upward and onward!


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

