Post #443 Happy New Year!

January 1, 2016 at 10:24 PM | Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on Post #443 Happy New Year!

It’s kinda cool when a blog post falls on a holiday.  Gives you an automatic subject to write about.  So after the Happy New Year greeting, I’m going to do some reminiscing.

New-Year-Glasses

Okay, that’s out of the way.

I worked on New Years Eve, but got away at 6:30 so I wasn’t on the road during the hectic and treacherous times.  We stayed in since a) we didn’t look into what was going on in town for the night, and (most importantly) b) we were tired and didn’t feel much like going out.  But I thought to surprise my Partner/Spouse so I bought a bottle of his favorite champagne and two pieces of cake from our bakery.  I knew we were having barbequed pork sandwiches so neither one of my offerings would go with it.  But it didn’t matter.  We were together and celebrating another year of keeping the wolves from our door.

When I got home, I found another bottle of his favorite champagne, a big bottle of my new favorite Chilean wine, and a bottle of a champagne we hadn’t tried before!  No other cake, so that worked out well.  We lasted until 10pm then went to bed.  One glass of bubbles apiece.  It’s going to take some time to finish all that.  Still, there’s always tonight.

We were very busy, understandably so.  Partner/Spouse was in the store (he bought all the stuff there) and I didn’t even see him.  Still, I try to make a connection with each person I’m working with.  One man came through and as I’m scanning his items I finally had to ask.

“Sir, are you German?”

He grinned.  “Part German.”

I matched his grin.  “I thought so.  The big pork roast, the sausages, then the sauerkraut.  You’re getting ready for New Year’s Day dinner, right?”

We had an enjoyable few minutes discussing our heritage.  Turns out we were brothers under the skin.  He was 50% German and had Irish and Scots heritage.  I’m 50% Irish and have German and Scots heritage.   We matched story for story while the others in line chuckled at us.

I was wearing an earpiece attached to a radio that all the dept. heads and managers have to wear to stay connected at this time of year.  I was helping one lady and started laughing, apparently (to her) at nothing.  I had to relate the conversation I’d just heard.

“Do we carry homemade lobsters?”  There’s no such thing so I knew they were asking for live Maine lobsters.

“Homemade lobsters?”

I interjected.  “I think they mean Maine lobsters.”

“Oh.”  Then later “Are they live?”

“They are until we steam them.”

That’s when I lost it.

I’ve written before about the tradition of the New Year dinner.  What you eat for the first big meal of the year is supposed to be designed to bring luck.  In the Wicca tradition, feasts are generally made up of what’s available at the time of year, and as many colors and flavors are represented as possible.  In the Germanic tradition (as per my grandmother), it’s pork and sauerkraut.  In the southern tradition, black eyed peas are a must.

A little old lady asked me yesterday where we kept the black eyed peas.  I showed her the display we had that held the cans and the dried beans and told her where the frozen ones were.  She wanted the dried beans and added 6 bags to her cart.

With a twinkle in her eye, she said, “That should make a good pot of soup!”

I laughed and said, “Honey, at my house that would make about twelve good pots of soup!”

You may remember a couple of posts ago I mentioned a lady who was making a cranberry crumble for Christmas dessert.  I had to climb onto a stepladder to get the last two cans we had in stock for her.  We got to talking and she told me about the recipe she was making.  She couldn’t remember the measurements or anything, but the way she described it made it sound amazing.

A couple of days ago, she came up to me.

“Joe?” she said.

“Yes,” I replied.  “How are you?  Did you make your cranberry crumble?”

It had turned out very well.  “I wrote down the measurements and had my grandson put it on the computer!”  She sounded so excited as she handed me an envelope.

This was inside.

Recipe

And it turns out that she and her grandson are going to start writing down all the recipes she has in her head and she promised to bring them to me as they get printed.

It’s a grand new year!

Enjoy

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

