Post #440 Christmas Spirit

December 22, 2015 at 9:07 AM | Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on Post #440 Christmas Spirit

I guess I’ve mentioned recently how much I like my job, right?  It’s fun to wander the store and help people find the stuff they’re looking for, and to suggest alternatives when we don’t have the exact item.  They learn from me and I learn from them.

For instance, one small older lady asked my assistance to get the last two cans of whole cranberry sauce from a top shelf.  I had to grab a step ladder since they were way in the back.  I have no idea how she even knew they were there.  As I was reaching for them, she told me she makes a cranberry crumble for Christmas every year.

“It’s so good,” she said.  “Everyone asks for it but I have to have the whole cranberries to make it.”

“You don’t use fresh berries?” I asked.

“No, that’s too much trouble and this recipe is so easy.  You spread two cans of whole cranberry sauce on the bottom of an 8×8 baking dish then top it with about a half cup of brown sugar.  Then dot it with butter and spread oatmeal over the top.  When it’s done, it makes the best crumble you can eat direct or put on top of ice cream or anything else you want.”

“How long do you bake it?”  I was intrigued since it sounded so good.

“I can’t remember.  I usually just plug along without thinking about it.”

“Yeah, I do that a lot, too,” I said grinning.

“I’ll bring the recipe back to you after I make it.  How can I get it to you?”

“Just put it in an envelope with my name on it (we wear giant name tags) and leave it at customer service.  They’ll get it to me.”

“I’ll tell them the nice looking man with the silver hair,” she said with an impish grin.

Made my night.

At the holiday, people are much more willing to share stories and information, smiles, etc.  I was helping a cashier out by bagging and a couple about my age were putting together an intimate party for 5 and I was playing a game by guessing what appetizers they were creating from what I was bagging.

“So this is going to be baked brie, right?”  At their nods, I continued. “Let’s see, drizzles with honey and a balsamic glaze?  And then topped with the berries and almonds?”

They grinned at my guesses and we chatted for a bit.  “Have you ever been to XX restaurant in MYLITTLETOWN?”  They’d heard of it but hadn’t been there yet.  “They serve a wonderful baked brie very similar to this.”  I described it to them since we’ve had it a couple of times.  The man’s smile widened as I told them how good it was.

“Yes,” he said.  “They bought that recipe from me.”

There I was swapping recipes with a successful chef!  I gushed like a groupie.

Last night, though, the best thing happened.  I got a call for assistance at a register.  It was fairly late, after 8pm.  A young man in his mid-20s was panicking a little.  He forgot his wallet at home, a significant drive of over an hour.  He had purchased about $30 worth of groceries but only had about $10 on him, in his car.  He wanted us to take his credit card over the phone.

“Our systems aren’t set up to do that, sir,” I replied.  “I’m very sorry, but we can’t do that.”  There were also significant security issues, but I wasn’t going to voice those at that point.

He went out to his car to get what cash he had.  While he was gone, I handed the cashier a dollar I was going to use for a bottle of water.

“I know it’s not much, but let him have that too.”  I then apologized to the people who were waiting.  The woman in the couple said not to worry about, it was a pleasure to just stop and relax for a few moments.

I got called away for another issue and when I returned the other couple were just finishing up.

“Did we get him squared away?” I asked the cashier.

“Yes,” she said.  “This couple paid for the whole thing.”  She handed my dollar back to me.

I thanked the couple and they said, “We’ve all been there at some point.  It was our pleasure to help him out.”

Like I said, I like my job!

Enjoy

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

