Post # 347 Kitchen Magic

March 4, 2015 at 12:43 PM | Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on Post # 347 Kitchen Magic

I try to use my kitchen to do all kinds of things.  Mostly it has to do with food, but once in a great while, it doesn’t.  Today, I made a solid hand lotion for me and Partner/Spouse.  I really prefer making my own stuff when I can because I can control the ingredients and quality of the stuff I’m putting on and inside of me.  I also like solid lotion better than goopy ones because they last longer; you use less of them; and they seem to work better for my type of skin.  I’ve collected them all over the country and have half a dozen little tins that are mostly empty.  I always manage to scrape just a little more out of them each time I want them.

Partner/Spouse found a recipe for homemade solid hand lotion last month and was intrigued by its ease and simplicity.  He got all the ingredients from Amazon.com and all the containers from IKEA.  I asked him a couple of days ago when he planned to make it cuz I wanted to take pics for the blog.  He invited me to make it myself, thereby saving him the trouble and allowing me to take as many pics as I wanted.  I decided to make it today (even though I’m functioning at 100%) to see how easy it really was, and to test the final product myself.

It really was easy.  The final product rivals anything I’ve ever bought commercially.  That makes me happy.  It took less than an hour start to finish, and makes a great product.

First, the recipe:

Lotion 01

  • 1/2 cup olive or almond oil (I used olive)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup beeswax
  • 2 tablespoons Shea Butter or Cocoa Butter (I used Shea Butter)
  • 1 tsp Vitamin E oil
  • Optional scents or extracts to suit (I used tea tree oil, peppermint oil, and sweet orange oil)
  1. Combine all ingredients in a pint sized jar or larger.
  2. Fill a sauce pan with water to about two inches and place over medium low heat.
  3. Put a lid loosely on the jar and place in steaming water.
  4. As the water heats, the ingredients will melt into the oil and combine.  Tighten the lid and shake the jars to incorporate the ingredients completely.  Don’t forget to loosen the lid before placing back in water.
  5. When the ingredients are completely melted (about twenty minutes or so) tighten the lid of the jar and give a good vigorous shake to make certain that all ingredients are completely mixed.  Loosen the lid and sniff and add scents to suit.
  6. Pour into storage containers.  Don’t use plastic containers since the mixture is HOT!  I used small spice containers from IKEA.  Once the mixture cools and solidifies, it’s ready to use.
  7. Use as you would regular lotion.  A little bit goes a very long way.  It has a shelf life of 6 – 12 months.  Use as often as you like.

So, here’s my experience with this.  First, the ingredients.  Olive oil has been used as a lotion for millennia.  No big surprise that it’s the base for this solid lotion.  Beeswax is melted honeycomb which has had all the honey extracted.  No additives have been used to make it harder or more brittle so it’s a very soft and easily melted wax.  Vigorous rubbing in the palms of your hands will soften it enough to spread over your skin.  Shea Butter is an extract from the nut of the Shea tree, surprisingly so, right?  It’s been used in medicines and cosmetics for centuries.  It’s also been used in food products in the last two centuries, mostly in chocolate where it’s added to cocoa to create the solid cocoa butter.  Coconut oil is extracted from the white flesh of the coconut and is quite edible.  Don’t eat this stuff, though, although now I think about it, all the ingredients are edible.  But don’t.  Coconut oil combats rancidification making it lotion last longer and keeping the olive oil from turning bad.  Vitamin E oil helps stop oxidation so the lotions keeps longer.  Scents, well they just make the stuff smell better.

I made two batches.

Lotion 02

In one batch, I put tea tree oil and sweet orange oil.  In the other, I put tea tree oil and peppermint oil.  Partner/Spouse and I like different scents.  We both like tea tree oil, and we both like orange oil, but I like peppermint better than most other scents.  But you can add any scents you like.  One commercially made lotion I bought had cayenne and ginger.  Works great.  But you can add pretty much anything you like.  Grind oatmeal up fine and use that, too.  You could even add dyes to change the color.

Once the stuff is completely melted, it’s ready.

Lotion 03

Don’t forget to shake it up good at the end.  Then pour into jars or tin.

Lotion 04

Like I said, I made peppermint and orange.  The beeswax is what you’re seeing in the jars as it solidifies and gold the rest of the ingredients in suspension.  The olive oil, coconut oil, and Shea Butter keep the wax from completely solidifying so it’s easy to use.

A small dab will take care of both hands quite well.

Lotion 05

Rub vigorously between your palms to melt and loosen all the ingredients then spread over your hands, or other skin surfaces.

Let me know if you make this and what uses you put it to.  I’ve heard it’s good for diaper rash, but since I don’t suffer from that in any form, I’ll take their word for it.

Enjoy

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

