Post # 318 National Brownies Day!

December 8, 2014 at 10:12 AM | Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on Post # 318 National Brownies Day!

10635737_10152541296807945_8576124067832582500_n

Thought I’d start with a chuckle.

I’ve posted about brownies before.  Probably more than once.  Yeah, definitely more than once.  Brownies are really good.  And they’re easy.  They take few ingredient; they only dirty up one pan and one baking dish; they’re almost fool-proof in baking; and they are gooey, chocolatey delicious.

However, when I got up today and checked to see what “national day” it was, lo and behold, it was National Brownie Day!  I think it should be a government holiday and every should have the day off with pay to make brownies.

Did you know the practically every day of the year is a day to honor something?  There’s a website called National Day Calendar.com that will tell you what you should be celebrating.  For the rest of this month, these are the foods being celebrate:

Pastry, Noodle Ring, Ambrosia, Gingerbread House, Cocoa, Bouillabaisse, Cupcake, Lemon Cupcake, Chocolate Covered Anything, Maple Syrup, Roast Suckling Pig, Hard Candy, Oatmeal Muffin, Sangria, French Fried Shrimp, Date Nut Bread, Pfeffernusse, Eggnog, Pumpkin Pie, Candy Cane, Pepper Pot, Bacon (not a surprise), and Champagne (also not a surprise.)

It really doesn’t take much to declare a day to celebrate something.  You sorta just declare it.

But Brownie Day, well, that’s just something special.  I’ve made a lot of brownies in my day.  It’s the one baked dessert that translated perfectly to a box mix.  I’ve made them from scratch.  I’ve made them from box.  I’ve invented new recipes that were great, and others that were good, but not worth doing again.  I even made one or two batches where I scorched the cocoa first to give it a smoky flavor.  I got to the point where I could throw a pan of brownies into the oven before the oven had heated itself up.  One time, we were at my sister-in-law’s house for dinner and she was bemoaning the fact that she wanted dessert but didn’t have anything.

“I’ll make something,” I said.  I scanned her cupboards and made Blondies, brownies without cocoa.  I also substituted brown sugar for white, and increased the amount of flour to compensate for the missing cocoa.  When they were done, and cooled off, they had a nice caramel flavor from the cooked sugar.  She was floored.  And very happy with the Blondies.

I told you once a while ago that I had made Brownies after dinner and left the pan on the kitchen counter over night.  This is what I found the next morning:

brownies 01

I’ve found I’ve always lived with people who will not take the last piece of anything at all.  My ex-wife would cut slivers off the last piece of whatever until you could see through it, but never take the last piece.  In college, my roommate would bake a cake and tell me to help myself, but never take the last piece.  That last wedge would get mighty precarious, almost falling over before he got to it.

I found a nice recipe for Peppermint Patty Brownies.  When I first looked at the title, I thought it had something to do with Charlie Brown and the gang.  It doesn’t.  Think more along the lines of York candy and you know where this is going.

Basically, you make whatever brownie recipe you’re going to make anyway, but you spread half in the pan then place the peppermint patty candy in the batter, and cover with the rest of the batter.  Bake as normal, cool, cut, and eat.

Brownies

Looks good to me.

I’m including the recipe from the Hershey’s Kitchen website where I found this.  My own homemade brownie recipe is in previous posts so I won’t go into it.  Except to say, it’s gooooood!

1 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa

  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 5 eggs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 24 small (1-1/2 inch) YORK Peppermint Patties
  • 1-1/2 cups (3 sticks) butter or margarine, melted

 

    Directions

    1. Heat oven to 350°F.(325°F. for glass baking dish). Remove wrappers from peppermint patties. Grease 13x9x2-inch baking pan.

    2. Stir together butter, sugar and vanilla in large bowl. Add eggs; beat until well blended. Stir in flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt; blend well. Reserve 2 cups batter. Spread remaining batter in prepared pan. Arrange peppermint patties about 1/2 inch apart in single layer over batter. Spread reserved 2 cups batter over patties.

    3. Bake 50 to 55 minutes or until brownies begin to pull away from sides of pan. Cool completely in pan on wire rack; cut into squares. Makes about 24 brownies.

    One final thing I wanted to share with you.  Brownies are chocolate and unbeknownst to me about what today was, yesterday I made a dessert to go with our grilled pork chops and Caesar salad that Partner/Spouse had been asking for.

    cake

    Looks good, don’t it?  German Chocolate Cake with Coconut-Pecan frosting.  Yummers.

    Enjoy!

    Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

