Post # 242 Trending Foods pt 1

April 18, 2014 at 7:43 PM | Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on Post # 242 Trending Foods pt 1

One thing is certain, the more things change, the more they stay the same.  Trends in everything come and go.  In food, they come and go a little more slowly than in the mainstream, but come and go they do.  (Quiet, Andrea, I know what you’re thinking.)  I can tell when a trend has reached almost maximum popularity when my sister’s husband talks about it like it’s a normal thing.  He’s not slow-witted or stupid or anything, but he is very reluctant to embrace change.  He cooks as he’s always cooked, like any cook, to please his family.  When he finds success, he sticks to it.  So when he talks about something like it’s something that has always been, it’s a trend that will soon be passé.

Lemons – I love lemons.  I’ve been eating and cooking with them since I was six.  I remember the first lemon candy my mom gave me.  It tasted so good, and so sour.  The first lemon pie followed shortly after that.  Lemonade was a staple drink growing up.  I even learned the way pioneers made lemonade and tried it.  Good stuff, although a little sweet for my taste.  I’ve pulled lemons off trees and fifteen minutes later I’m drinking lemonade.  My brother’s first ex-wife once made a lemon meringue pie that was a showcase pie, although she neglected to strain the juice so we were eating around seeds and pith.  But what an amazing flavor!  The best thing to use lemon for is a counteracting agent for salt.  I don’t know where I discovered this, but if you put too much salt in a sauce or soup, or even on top of a meat dish, a slight squeeze of lemon juice eliminates the salty flavor and “brightens” the flavor of whatever you’re cooking.  That’s how I knew the lemon had arrived.  I heard my brother in law talking about brightening flavors.  When I asked him how he was doing that, he said with lemon.  Lemon is good all by itself, too.  I went to visit my father a couple of days ago, and Partner/Spouse made a cake to take with us.  My dad was so happy because he’d been thinking about cake for a couple of days.  When it turned out to be a lemon cake, he was even happier.  My sister in law was ecstatic.

Egg Yolks – Yolks from eggs used to thought of as the truly heinous villains of the food set.  They were full of unhealthy cholesterol and would kill you just as soon as look at you.  Well, it turns out they weren’t quite the bad guy they were made out to be.  The key is moderation, as in all things.  And an egg yolk in a sauce adds so much flavor and so much richness that it doesn’t make any sense to leave it out.  Yolks are used to make Béarnaise and Hollandaise sauces.  But the best is a Lemon Egg Yolk sauce.  (See what I did there?)  This sauce can be used for pasta, to top eggs, fish, or chicken, or just about anything else you can think of.

  • 1 1/2 tsp lemon zest
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice, strained
  • Yolks from 2 large or jumbo sized eggs
  • 1/2 cup to 1 cup sugar depending on personal taste
  • 2 tablespoons corn starch
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 4 tsp butter

Beat egg yolks lightly until just broken apart and set aside.  In a separate bowl, combine sugar, corn starch, and salt.  In a medium pan, combine water with sugar mixture until completely dissolved, then heat over medium-low heat until the mixture thickens.  (If you’ve never used corn starch before, this will look odd, but totally cool.)  Remove pan from heat.  Add 2 tablespoons hot sugar mixture to egg yolks and whisk briskly.  This tempers the egg yolks so they won’t scramble in the sauce.  Return egg yolk mixture to the pan and cook on medium-low heat for about two minutes, stirring constantly, until well heated.  Remove from heat and add lemon juice, lemon zest, and butter.  Serve warm over just about anything, even an old shoe.

lemon egg yolk sauce

Enjoy!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

