Post # 212 It’s Turkey Taco Time!

January 22, 2014 at 10:02 PM | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

{sung to the tune of Tarara Boomdeay}

It’s Turkey Taco Time!  It’s Turkey Taco Time!  It’s Turkey Taco Time!  It’s Turkey Taco Time!

Okay, so I’m no song writer.  Whaddaya want for free?

We had turkey tacos tonight and boy were they good!  I had three large strips of turkey breast that I marinated in pineapple juice, olive oil, cayenne pepper, lemon juice, and lime juice.  I left it in the marinade for two hours, then grilled them on a hot grill until it was cooked completely through and had great char marks on the outside.  While it was cooking and resting, I made saffron rice (from a kit; c’mon, few of us have saffron in the pantry) and prepped the rest of the filling for the tacos.  I had a bowl of grated cheddar cheese, chopped tomatoes, shredded lettuce, fresh salsa, and fresh pico de gallo.  When it had cooled enough to handle, I chopped the turkey into small pieces.  I heated flour tortillas on an iron skillet, set out plates, and called everyone to dinner.

I made three tacos, with turkey, cheese, tomatoes, lettuce, and pico de gallo.  A bowl of rice on the side.

Partner/Spouse made three burritos with rice, turkey, salsa, and pico de gallo.

FiL made a taco salad with lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, turkey, pico de gallo, salsa, and raspberry vinaigrette.  Rice on the side.

Same ingredients, three different meals.  Totally cool.  I’m stuffed.

Later, gators!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.