Post # 156 Garlic and Basil Stuffed Chicken Breast

August 19, 2013 at 2:48 PM | Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on Post # 156 Garlic and Basil Stuffed Chicken Breast

Gotta say OOOOPPS!!  I started this post last Thursday night.  On Friday, when I was supposed to post this, my brain told me that I’d already done it so I didn’t do it so there was no Friday post.  I didn’t realize it until later Friday evening.  So I just said, heck with it.  I’ll post it Monday.  That being said, here it is!

 

Ha Ha Ha!  I said “breast”!   Hee Hee Hee!

Okay, now that that’s over.

Yesterday, I made a wonderful recipe that I’ve made before and actually talked about on my “other” food blog.  Don’t bother looking for it; I closed it long before I started this one.  But, you know me, I can’t leave anything alone.  Since I first posted it, I’ve played with it and refined it and turned it into a “different but the same” recipe.

Have you ever noticed how many foods “tastes just like chicken”?  I won’t go into a long list, but it always seems like when people can’t describe what they’re tasting, it always comes out “tastes just like chicken!”  Then just eat chicken!  Leave the frog’s legs, crocodile tails, and other stuff to me.

Chicken is great stuff.  It’s one of the most versatile foods around.  It seems that no matter what chicken is cooked with, it takes on the flavors surrounding it while keeping its own unique flavor profile.  It can be cooked in a number of ways, and still be recognizably chicken.  It can be used in every single stage of its life cycle, from embryonic through old tough senior.  And it’s not terribly bad for you as long as you cook it right and don’t eat the really bad stuff.  The two healthiest ways to cook chicken is to grill it or bake it.  In either case, leave the skin on.  There’s been debate about this since the skin is one of those bad things on the chicken.  Here’s the trick.  Don’t eat the skin.  Cook with the skin on; it keeps the chicken moist and flavorful.  Then don’t eat the skin.  There are ways to season the bird so when the skin is removed the flavor stays.  One way is to put the herbs and spices under the skin and rub it in.  Another way is this one:

Garlic and Basil Stuffed Chicken Breast

  • Three large chicken breast, bone in and skin on
  • Three tablespoons softened butter
  • Three cloves garlic, minced
  • Three tablespoons fresh basil cut in chiffonade  *OR*
  • Three teaspoons dried basil
  • Three tablespoons olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper

Heat your oven to 350.  Using a sharp knife, cut into the thickest part of the chicken breast creating a large pocket.  Spread on tablespoon softened butter inside cavity.  Put minced garlic and cut basil on top of butter.  Repeat with all chicken breasts.  Place in an oven safe baking dish.  Brush the tops and sides of the chicken with the olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.  Bake uncovered until inner temperature reaches 170.  Serve with salad.  It’s wonderful stuff!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

