Post # 131 Quick Breakfast Bites

June 19, 2013 at 6:22 PM | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

One of the challenges that faces Partner/Spouse daily is finding time on the job to actually eat something.  When it happens, it has to happen quickly and it has to be filling and nutritious.  Taking leftovers is what we normally do for lunch and if there’s no time, it sits in the office fridge until the next day, or else it gets tossed.  There’s always a supply of commercial energy bars to keep him going, but there’s no control over ingredients, etc. in those things.

Breakfast is always the biggest challenge.  He hits the ground running when he arrives at work.  He can usually find a few moments to eat, but there’s the question of what.  And we all like variety.  So I’m constantly looking for things I can make at home and freeze for him.  It’s a puzzle because there are lots of things he can’t or won’t eat.  (Now, don’t judge; we all have things we don’t like.  For me, it’s white fluffy things, remember?)

The other day, I stumbled across a recipe for muffins that included sweet and savory ingredients.  It simplified the process by using pre-made baking mixes (ie, Bisquick, etc.)  It also made things “healthier” by eliminating egg yolks.  The first mini-batch I made were pretty tasteless.  But I liked the idea so I fiddled with it and came up with Quick Breakfast Bites.

I made the muffin batter from a homemade baking mix (I’ll share that with you in a day or two), but I switched things up a little.  Instead of using maple syrup which no one here likes, I used brown sugar.  To make things a little better for the bite, I added a tablespoon of bran.  Not the bran cereal or bran flakes, but real bran.  A tablespoon of that in anything is unnoticeable and provides a ton of health benefits.  Instead of fresh berries, I used frozen.  Instead of full-sized muffins, I went with mini-muffins.  I also added roasted sunflower seeds to add a nutty crunch.  Here’s what I ended up with:

Breakfast Bites

The recipe made two and a half dozen mini-muffins which I froze four to a bag, except the four that were eaten as experiments.  My sister thought they were a little bland, so next time, I’m going to add either cinnamon or allspice, and vanilla.  I’ll let you know how that goes.  So here’s what you do:

  • 1 1/4 cup baking mix
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon bran
  • 1 cup low fat or skim milk
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 1/2 pound turkey sausage (or pork if so inclined)
  • 1 cup frozen berries (I used blueberries)
  • 1/4 cup roasted sunflower seeds

Mix first five ingredients together until blended.  Add last three and stir carefully.  Spoon into mini muffin tins that have been pretreated to even with top.  Bake for 18-20 minutes at 375.  Cool for five minutes then remove from tin.  Can be frozen.  Makes 28 mini muffins, or ten – twelve full sized muffins.

Enjoy!  And let me know how it goes!

 

2 Comments

  1. We like a recipe for egg muffins: in muffin cups, bake a mixture of beaten eggs &/or egg whites and fillings of choice (veggies & cheese for us). Be sure to spray muffin tin with Pam first. These freeze well. We take them on car trips and keep on hand for busy mornings.

    • Now, that sounds good. I’ll have to try that!


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

