Post # 114 Random Food Musings

April 22, 2013 at 4:04 PM | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Is there some food that you find absolutely repulsive?  My Partner/Spouse hates fish.  I love fish.  We don’t eat fish at home.  I was on a trip to China once, and one of my coworkers hated Chinese food.  Even the smell of it turned her stomach.  I love Chinese food.  We ate at all the American restaurants in the city, mostly at the hotel.  One time, we were leaving for lunch (probably at KFC) and one of the local staff had just heated their lunch.  My mouth watered and I wanted some so badly.  As we waited for the elevator, she turned to me and said, “That was disgusting!”  My mouth dropped open, I was so surprised.  But I couldn’t help laughing at the difference of opinions.  My own gut-wrenching items are milk (and a few other dairy products), Ranch dressing, and jarred mayonnaise.  When I was telling someone this once, they asked, “So is it anything white and fluffy?”  I thought about it and said, “No, I like marshmallows, and mashed potatoes.”  Although I do have to take them in small amounts and infrequently.  Ice cream is another “take it or leave it – usually leave it” kind of thing.

My father, and both fathers in law all liked something that makes me want to run from the room screaming.  They will eat bread and milk in a bowl or a glass.  The current father in law will eat either crackers or cornbread (if I made any) in a glass with milk poured over it.  I know this is a country-style thing, but I don’t even want to touch the glass after he’s done.  My father would also use buttermilk when we had some.  Ewwwww!

Let me know what foods make you gag.

I got the garden in today, and I suppose it’s a good omen that it’s Earth Day today.  The garden fence came in last week, and went up around the garden the next day.  But one thing or another kept me from actually getting things into the ground, mostly heat.

Garden 01

Garden 02

You can see from the pics that the fence isn’t designed to keep anything serious out.  It’s mostly there to alert the Boston Terrorist to stay away from the growing plants.  He eats them.  I’ve seen him do it.  In the first pic, you can see four quarters.  The first quarter, the lower right one, is filled with tomatoes.  The four small plants are the cherry tomatoes I started from seeds.  Now they’re in the ground, they should start growing like weeds.  The two larger ones are called Goliaths and have a larger, beefsteak style tomato.  They were so long in the starter pots, they each have one tomato one them already.  In the second quarter, the lower left one, I put in all my herbs.  The two larger plants are Sweet Basil and Tricolor Sage.  I planted the rest of the garden in seeds.  The herbs I planted are two other kinds of basil, and one more sage.  I planted curly leaf parsley, cilantro, and oregano.  I’ve also got my various mints in pots around the yard, as well as rosemary in pots in the front and hanging along the carport.

The upper left quarter has carrots and radishes.  These were planted by seed but by a different method.  It’s called seed tape.  The seeds are affixed to the tape at the correct intervals and all you have to do it put them in the ground.  Since I planted early, I’ll be able to get two crops of both of these.  I still have plenty of tape left over.  The final quarter, the upper right, I put in six green bean seeds, and four purple tomatillos.  If I had done all this a month ago, I’d have fresh vegetables already.  Oh well.  I’ll keep you posted on how it all goes.

I put plants in various pots around the yard to get the best effect out of them.  We’ve got jasmine, honeysuckle, mint, and bedding flowers all over.  With some leftover pots, I’m going to plant sweet pea along the fence so the vines will grow up along the chain link.  I’ve tried to start jalapeno peppers from seeds that I dried last year but so far no sprouts.  If I don’t see anything by the weekend, I’m going to go to the garden store and get a couple of peppers.  Not sure which ones though.

Two people who are very near and dear to me are battling cancer right now.  I was wondering if anyone out there knew of any cancer fighting foods?  Both of them are heavy into healthy eating and I’ve recommended sticking to whole foods and grains with plenty of antioxidants, but does anyone have any specific advice?  Thanks!

Closing for now.  Take care and eat well!

4 Comments

  1. As for foods that make me gag…Peanut Butter and Jelly sandwiches. The thought of one makes my blood go cold. I like peanut butter. I like jellies and jams. Just can’t do the two together.
    And this is coming from the guy who eats his cottage cheese with chick peas. Hard boiled egg in his chili. Nutter Butter cookies with guacamole.
    But, P,B and J ? …. hellz no

    • I know what you mean. Except in a PBJ with grape jelly, and Reese’s Cups, peanut butter makes me hurl. It’s vile. Even the aroma makes me queasy. Go figure.

  2. my problem is seafood. i SEE food…i want to EAT it. LOL. fortunately, i don’t have a sweet tooth. i hate really disgustingly greasy foods w/ a few exceptions. how do you feel about HOMEMADE mayo? it bears no resemblance to the commercial stuff and i ADORE it. ANY mayo-based salad (tuna, chicken, etc.) made w/ HOMEMADE mayo is WONDERFUL. in fact, today, i had an amazing chicken, grape, sweet cranberry salad w/ homemade mayo. OMG!!!!!! 🙂

    • B – You obviously haven’t read the novel or you’d know how I feel about homemade mayonnaise. Wonderful stuff, but it has to be made by hand or it just isn’t right. The Two Fat Ladies taught me that.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

