Post # 109 Mom’s Snake

April 10, 2013 at 12:30 PM | Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on Post # 109 Mom’s Snake

My mom hated only four kinds if snakes: big ones, little ones, dead ones, and live ones.  My little brother, on the other hand, loved all of those.  They had a deep, long-running animosity regarding that subject.  Mom always ran victorious.

Until one day in late spring.  My brother and I had just arrived home from school.  He was slightly behind me when we walked into the house.  I stopped dead in my tracks.  When you walked into the house, you were in our living room and directly across from the door was a long couch which was kind of ratty, but my dad loved it because it fit his long frame.  My mom was huddled in one corner of that couch absolutely dithering.

She fixed an evil glare over my shoulder at my brother and said, “You little s#& of a b*^@h, did you bring a snake into this house?”

He immediately started crying; it was his first line of defense.  “Yes.  It got away from me and I’ve been looking for it.”

I instantly realized that the bedroom cleaning he’d been doing for the past week had an ulterior motive.  I looked down the hallway that led to the laundry room and saw clothes flung everywhere, including hanging from an overhead lamp.  Apparently, she had been taking a load of laundry to the laundry room and the snake had been slithering toward her.  She screamed, threw the clothes, ran for the living room, and stayed on the couch waiting for the snake to come get her.  I helped her to her bed, then called my dad at work.

“You better bring home some hamburgers or something for dinner.” I said.

“Why?”

“I guess your youngest son brought a snake into the house, and mom found it.  I’ve already put her to bed.”

There was ominous silence for a few moments, then Dad said, “I’ll be right home.”

I started picking things up and straightening while my brother looked around the floor his “pet”.  I watched him for a couple of moments then said, “I can’t believe you did that.  You know how Mom feels about snakes.”

“I just wanted to raise one.” he said still sniffing.

“What kind was it?  Nothing dangerous, I hope.”

“No, just a shovel-nosed.  I’ve been looking for it for over a week.”

I shook my head.  The snake didn’t bother me, but given the situation.

Dad got home shortly after with several bags of cheeseburgers and fries.  He glared at my brother but went directly to my mom.  I set out plates and utensils, waiting for the family to sit down.  We gathered and started to dig in, but my dad said, “Uh-uh.”

He pointed at my brother.  “You’re not eating until you find that snake and I see you put it outside.”

“But I’m hungry!” my brother said, astounded.

“I don’t care.  Do it.”  Dad was still a marine at this time and had a commanding voice.  My brother got up from the table and began searching again.

After dinner was over, I cleaned everything up and did my homework.  I felt sorry for my brother so I started helping him look.

“What are you doing?” my dad asked quietly.

“Helping look for the snake.”

“No, you’re not.” he said.

“Oh.  I guess I’m reading a book, then.”

My brother continued looking, and at about 2 a.m. he found it.  He woke my dad and they went to an empty lot nearby and released it.  As they walked back into the house, Dad pointed at the cold leftover cheeseburgers and fries.

“Now eat.”

My brother had to eat three cheeseburgers and an order of fries.  But he never brought another wild animal into the house again.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

