Post # 101 A Funny Food

March 11, 2013 at 1:44 PM | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Who remembers “Oh I wish I were an Oscar Mayer Weiner!  That is what I’d truly like to be!  Cuz if I were an Oscar Mayer Weiner everyone would be in love with me!”?  How about “Hot Dogs, Armor Hot Dogs.  What kind of kids eat Armor Hot Dogs?  Fat kids, skinny kids, kids who climb on rock, tough kids, sissy kids, even kids with chicken pox!” ?  And who knows that Ball Park Franks plump when you cook ’em?

Hot dogs are good stuff whether you call them hot dogs, franks, wieners, sausages, or anything else.  They’ve gotten a bad rap over the years because quality tends to vary from brand to brand.  They’ve got a reputation for being made from leftover parts of the pig and cow, but that’s not strictly true.   Sometimes, they’ve even been accused of being made from real dogs.  My mom used to tell the joke about the two immigrants sitting in the park eating their first American food, hot dogs.  One looks at the other and asks what part of the dog he got?

Hot dogs can be cooked in about a billion different ways.  They can be steamed, boiled, baked, fried, deep fried, nuked, open fire, in a quiche, in an omelet, grilled, stuffed, in a pie, and bunches of other ways.  Recently, I saw three ways of cooking them that I’d never seen before and all three made me laugh out loud.  So here they are with apologies.  Hope you enjoy them.  Let me know if you make any of them!  Enjoy!

hot dogs 02.jpg

hot dogs 01.jpg

hot-dogs 03.jpg

 

1 Comment

  1. I eat hot dogs so often my gf has said more than once ‘You’re gonna turn INTO a hot dog!”. When eating at home they MUST be Nathan’s. Even when making “Pigs in a Blanket” at Christmas….stilll Nathan’s.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

